Each state has specific requirements for auto insurance, and North Carolina is no different. When you understand your state’s insurance requirements, you make wise decisions about your vehicle and any situations your vehicle could get into.
Do you live in Mooresville, NC? Griffin Insurance Agency can help you understand your state’s auto insurance requirements.
In order to drive legally in North Carolina, you must have liability insurance through a licensed in-state company. Liability coverage covers damage and injury that you or your vehicle may cause to others. You must have coverage for both bodily injury and property damage. In your state, the minimum requirements include $30,000 for bodily injury (per person) and $25,000 for property damage.
Remember: these policies only cover other people. In order to cover your own vehicle, you may consider an optional comprehensive or collision insurance policy.
Uninsured & Underinsured Motorist Coverage
The law also requires coverage for instances in which you come into contact with uninsured or underinsured motorists. These are drivers who may not have the necessary coverage, and this coverage helps you avoid covering the costs of medical bills and auto repairs on your own.
What Happens If You Don’t Meet Minimum Requirements?
If you do not meet the minimum requirements for auto insurance, your license plate may be revoked. You may also be subject to fees and civil penalties. If you are not sure if your policy meets the minimum requirements for your state, an insurance agent can help you.
Get the Auto Insurance You Need
No matter where you live, you need to have adequate insurance coverage for your vehicle. Griffin Insurance Agency, which serves Mooresville, NC, can help you find the right policy for your vehicle.